Benton Township is one of eleven townships in Monroe County, Indiana, USA. Originally consisting of Marion Township in the north and Benton Township in the south, the townships merged in January of 1916 to form the largest township in the State. As of the 2010 census, its population was 3,358 and contains 1,716 housing units.

Benton Township covers an area of 56.61 square miles (146.6 square kilometers); of this, 54.92 square miles (142.2 square kilometers, 97.01 percent) is land and 1.69 square miles (4.4 square kilometers, 2.99 percent) is water. Much of the Morgan-Monroe State Forest is located within the Township, as well as a major recreational area, Lake Lemon.

There are three unincorporated towns in the township, Fleener, Unionville, and New Unionville. Indiana State Road 45 is the major artery.

Map of Monroe County highlighting Benton Township.

Visit the Benton Township Trustee Webpage for governing info.